Cheap (and fun) living in Costa Rica

This morning I rode the bus to Heredia (28¢ each way) to do some shopping for fabric to make a baby quilt (new grand daughter!).  After checking out a fabric store and finding nothing that appealed to me, I headed for the ropas (sometimes used, sometimes new items) to see if I’d have better luck.  I found exactly what I was looking for (plus a few things I wasn’t!) and bought it.  I paid 60¢ for a huge, plain colored fabric for the back of the quilt and a bright colored juvenile fabric perfect for the top ($1.20).  Then I stopped at a fabric, ribbon, sewing notions and yarn store and picked up batting ($3.50 per meter) and yarn (60¢ a skein).  From there I went to the market and had a delicious lunch of fried chicken, pico de gallo, picadillo, rice and beans and a glass of tamarindo ($3). Back to the bus and home with the “kills” from the ropas.  They’ve already been washed and are bouncing in the dryer.  I can’t wait to start the quilt.

One response to “Cheap (and fun) living in Costa Rica

  1. Yes, Costa Rica is one of the best place where someone could spend their life with minimum budget. Nowadays cost of living continues to rise around the globe, but people are satisfied with the conditions in Costa Rica. What people really need is happiness of their choice and the ability to spend on things they need.

Leave a Reply

