Going bonkers — PART TWO

the saga continues … I went to the bank in the other town and, fortunately, there was no line in which to wait for the bad news this time. Since I didn’t have an account at the bank, they couldn’t do the transfer and setting up an account would take a few weeks (I really didn’t want another account anyway). They asked if I had an account in the U.S., which I do. They said they could transfer the money to that account, but it would cost $250 to do it. The only solution that wouldn’t cost so much money or time (I thought – silly me) was to cash the check. I had not wanted to receive cash because of the risk involved carrying it on me. The bank would happily cash the check if I had my passport with me, which I never carry because passports in Costa Rica are hot commodities (another story someday). I went home, picked up my passport and a friend (now a designated bodyguard) and returned to the bank in the other town. All was going along smoothly until I was told that the person who had written the check had a limit on how much he allowed out of his account on a weekly basis. Since the check was over this amount, I would have to pay a percentage to cash it. What choice did I have? I paid $35 to have the check cashed, returned to my hometown, went to Banco Nacional (there was no line this time) and made a deposit. I went to Banco Costa Rica to make a similar deposit, but turned around when I saw a long line. I think I’ve earned the amount of the check more than once!

Leave a Reply

